Magnificent Seven 2016

Movies I love include: Seven Samurai (Shichinin no Samurai), 13 Assassins (Jūsannin no Shikaku), A Bug’s Life (Das große Krabbeln), The Three Amigos (Los Tres Amigos), The 13th Warrior (Eaters of the Dead), and the The Magnificent Seven (The Magnificent Seven). So yeah, if you show up with a number of dudes fighting bad guys, I’m there.

Even so, I was hesitant about a remake of The Magnificent Seven but honestly the trailer looks good. Denzel Washington has really good track record of movies in my book, he might be second only to star power houses like Keanu Reeves.

The only thing that I can really “complain” about is the escalation of heroism in modern movies. In Seven Samurai the samurai aren’t really superhuman dudes. There’s that one guy but even he buys it in the end. I suspect that in this one the Seven will be more superhuman. None of this will stop me from seeing this, of course.

Leave a Reply

