Pee-Wee’s Big Holiday

I watched Pee-Wee’s Big Holiday yesterday and I loved it. I’m pretty confused how that happened. I assume that those days when Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure was my favorite movie had passed, that I had somehow grown too old for Pee-Wee Herman and his I-Know-You-But-What-Am-I humor.

But as I watched Pee-Wee’s Big Holiday I realized that I loved it and it was hilarious. I don’t know how that happened.

Pee-Wee strikes up a friendship with actor Joe Manganiello and their friendship ought to seem romantic, and yet somehow it isn’t. Both Pee-Wee and Joe Manganiello just seem so pure-hearted and innocent, that it earnestly just seems like one of those friendships you get where you instantly click with someone. The sincerity of it all, and the lack of any kind of embarrassment, just cemented it as weirdly believable and beautiful to me.

That’s it. It turns out I’m a big Pee-Wee Herman fan and at this rate I always will be.

Leave a Reply

