The End of #Skyrim

I decided to stop playing Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. I’ve enjoyed playing it but I can definitely feel me crossing the line to addiction and it’s difficult to manage at that level. So I’m going to take a break from playing it and reading about it on the internet.

I’m actually at a good stopping point too. I’ve become a thane of most of the Holds, I’ve completed Dawnguard and Dragonborn. All of the new content, or the core of the new content, has been done. It’s a good time to take a step back and readjust priorities.

My character Sevan basically ascended to godhood. In my mind he might give up worldly concerns and retreat to a place like the Ancient Falmer Temple to the Sun God, Auriel. Or perhaps he’ll got to the Greybeard monastery. I’m imagining something like Li Mu Bi’s plan in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

A recurring problem in the Elder Scrolls world, at least in my experience, is that the godlike beings tarry too long on the mortal plane. Harkon, the vampire king, has a plan to kill the Sun and seems like he has a legitimate chance at doing it. Miraak, the First Dragonborn, is trying to return to the mortal plane and conquer an island. Admittedly, that seems like small potatoes, but I’m sure he’d wreak more damage before he’d stop.

Thinking about it more, I realized that Sevan probably has a lot in common with Harkon and Miraak. All three had made deals with various demon princes (Sevan routinely uses the Sanguine Rose and Wabbajack), all three had epic adventures from which they became heroes, and all three end up struggling for a grander plan. What really differentiates Sevan from them? I mean, you’re stopping Miraak and Harkon, but you emerge from every struggle basically more like them. At the end of each battle you come away with their armor and weapons, a seductive opportunity to don them for yourself and become the next Miraak or the next Harkon.

And maybe it’s a power corrupts parable. So that’s why it seems satisfying to me that Sevan give up his worldly possessions and retreat into the life of a hermit, or something like that. It’s an anticlimactic ending, but I enjoy the rejection of the godhood that corrupted both Harkon and Miraak.

 

Leave a Reply

