2 Games I’m excited about and Fallout 4

2 Games I’m excited about and Fallout 4

#1. Mad Max

I’ve been on the fence about this game ever since I found out it was coming out. On the one hand, it looks like a sandbox game where you drive around in a car, collecting loot and helping out factions. So on the one hand it sounds like a great game. What concerned me was that the storyline in the trailer raised the possibility of a romance plotline, and I don’t watch Mad Max movies to see Mad Max hit it off with the ladies. He’s kind of the anti-James Bond as far as I can tell.

But then I found out it was Avalanche Studios that was making it, and they made Just Cause 2, so obviously that raised my confidence in this game a bunch. So I’m probably going to get this game when it comes out because it sounds like a great game. I love the idea of tricking out my car and getting points with factions. If the game manages these two things my money will be well spent.

#2. XCOM 2

XCOM: Enemy Unknown and the expansion XCOM: Enemy Within were excellent games. Excellent. It turns out it’s exactly what I wanted in an RPG. I don’t want to wander a map, apparently, I want to be at my base, researching gear and upgrades, then send out my soldiers on specific missions.

It’s incredible. Really, I love those games, and the only thing I wanted from those games was more game. There’s the Long War mod I could download, but honestly it sounds way too intense for me.

Anyway, XCOM 2 looks pretty good. I think the basic format is the same, only this time around the XCOM and aliens have swapped positions. Now XCOM is on the “Temple Ship” and invading Earth in an attempt to free it from alien occupation. Sounds interesting. Aliens are apparently buffed up a lot which is also cool, and you’ll be fighting their human goons a lot, also fine. They also introduced melee weapons which should make my friends happy. They’re super into melee weapons.

So yeah, I might drop the full price for this one too because if it’s just as good as XCOM, then it’s worth it to me.

#3. Fallout 4

I’m actually going to wait on this one. Fallout 3, after the expansions, was a fine game. People really loved it. I personally prefer Fallout: New Vegas, but that’s because I come from another time. I also think Bethesda just isn’t the best at putting depth into their games. Now maybe that’s changed, maybe Fallout 4 is going to be amazing. I’m not saying I’m not going to play it, I’m just saying I’m going to wait for a sale on this one.

It’s probably going to be a first person shooter set in… I want to say Boston? In a post apocalyptic future. You’ll probably be fighting robots, and I’m down with that. I don’t know, mostly Fallout 3 just felt kind of empty to me. Sort of like Skyrim in that way, which was also made by Bethesda.

My point? Still a great year for video games.

Leave a Reply

