3 Random Projects I’ve started

#1. Waking up at 4am

This project just started almost at random. I just wanted to have enough time every morning to do stuff I wanted, instead of waiting till after work. It’s surprising to me how much I enjoy doing this. I wake up super early and knock out most of the things on my to-do list. Not the errands to-do list, the to-do list of things I actually want to do but probably don’t get anything out of it.

This obviously isn’t for everyone but I’m a morning person so it plays to my strengths. The only real problem is that if you’re really sticking to a sleep schedule it kind of decouples you from the social sphere.

#2. Soylent

I just started drinking Soylent. I like it. I like the flavor, I like the way it makes me feel, and I like that it only takes 2 minutes to make. Obviously gourmands and epicureans would be horrified by my abandoning of one of life’s pleasures, but honestly I’m not great at self-care, and something like this that makes it easier is a real boon to me.

I’m probably going to buy some more of this and just replace dinner with it.

#3. Drawing pictures of my left hand

Every morning I’ve been getting up and drawing pictures of my left hand. I mean, I get up at 4am so there’s not a lot around to draw. I’m not interested in drawing anything round and shiny so that cuts out a lot and furniture isn’t super interesting to me. I’ve been doing it for a few months now and I think I’m really starting to get good at drawing my fingers.

I don’t know what I’m getting out of these random projects overall, I just feel like life is really lacking without wacky projects to work on. Getting stuff done early in the morning definitely feels like no matter what happens during the rest of the day, I’m definitely not wasting the day.

Leave a Reply

