YOU THINK DARKNESS IS YOUR ALLY?

Behold the second most ridiculous voice in the Dark Knight franchise. I like to talk into my water bottle and pretend I’m Bane.

BANE:

Or perhaps he’s wondering why someone would shoot a man before throwing him out of a plane.

GUY:

At least you can talk. Who are you?

BANE:

It doesn’t matter who we are. What matters is our plan. No one cared who I was until I put on the mask.

GUY:

If I pulled that off will you die?

BANE:

It would be extremely painful…

GUY:

You’re a big guy.

BANE:

… for you.

GUY:

Was getting caught part of your plan?

BANE:

Of course!

I love Thomas Hardy’s portrayal of Bane and his magically loud voice. He’s such a ridiculous character but has such a great physicality to his role.

Do you feel in charge?

Bane is almost comically melodramatic. I’d like to note that in the above scene nothing Bane says would really qualify him as “pure evil”. Or even a “necessary evil”. Or even luciferean really. Bane, like the Joker in some ways, represents a kind of nihilism.

Thinking back on the entire Nolan series, there’s always been two forces arrayed against Batman, the forces of Corruption (represented by the corrupt police and mafia), and the forces of Nihilism (represented by Ras al Ghul, the Joker, and Bane). I’m not sure yet if I’ve figured out what it all means.

Let’s take this Mr. Toad’s wild blog ride to a Bane fight:

Peace has cost you your strength. Victory has defeated you.

Bane has three super powers, as far as I can tell. One he has amazing physical presence (as if he had infinite confidence), the second is the ability to be sound like his voice was mixed in in post production, and his greatest power of all is the ability to say dumb things but make them seem cool.

Oh you think darkness is your ally? You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it. Molded by it. I didn’t see the light until I was already a man by then it was nothing to me but blinding. The shadows betray you because they belong to me.

Seriously, Bane has like zero content to things he says, but he sounds really awesome.

In that sense I think he’s a good representation of the Dark Knight movies overall. Very cool looking and takes itself so seriously, but really kind of dumb the moment you stop to think about it.

One thought on “YOU THINK DARKNESS IS YOUR ALLY?

Leave a Reply

