Love Requires Dramatic Sacrifices (in the Rain)

The first trailer I saw today on hulu had this description:

The lives of a young couple intertwine with a much older man as he reflects back on a lost love while he’s trapped in an automobile crash.

And I imagined this weird time jumping hallucinogenic story of a dying man in a car, psychically projecting himself into the lives of two couples.

The actual trailer was kind of a let down. From Nicolas Sparks, who is the guy I assume brought us “Making out (in the Rain)” and “Dramatic Declarations (in the Rain)” and “Wet shirts (in the Rain)”, comes a story of a Cowboy and a City Girl, their love forbidden by the classic war between sedentary office workers and horsemen. I bet there’s going to be some rain, if you know what I mean.

Incidentally, is there anything more American than a Cowboy with a six pack? It’s like seriously American. Did you know Argentina had cowboys? I think they called them gauchos. But I digress.

So it looks like Cowboy is dedicated to the sport of bull riding. I don’t really get bull riding myself, I’m sure it takes skill and you can cram sixty bull rides into like an hour since they seem to last less than a minute, but that’s what he does. It’s probably a metaphor for sex?

Then the City Girl falls in love with him. Makes sense so far. Then they rescue Alan Alda from a car wreck and start seeing parallels with his life through the love letters they salvage from his car wreck?

I don’t know guys, you technically lost me when you weren’t Fast Five but now I’m like extra checking out. This is no Legends of the Fall, which if you’re going to watch a romance with Cowboys and World War I, that’s probably a good place to start.

Anyway, I’m out. Though it does remind me that I want to watch All the Pretty Horses, I think Cormac MacCarthy wrote that book. Yeah, the guy who wrote The Road. I’m curious to see how that works.

Leave a Reply

