Last Friday Knights

I was scanning trailers on hulu when I came across this:

Clive Owens plays a knight whose lord is dishonored and killed. He then leads a secret revolution against the corrupt nobleman who brought about his former master’s downfall.

Sound familiar? It sounded really familiar.

There was another movie …

Which reportedly was pretty bad, but I was interested in that because (a) Keanu and (b) I remember learning about this story from:

Which led me to Jorge Luís Borges’ The Uncivil Teacher of Court Etiquette Kôtsuké no Suké (1935). Track it down, it’s worth reading.

I’m not a 100% sure that Last Knights is based on 47 Ronin, but the comparison is an obvious one. I wouldn’t be surprised if Clive Owens gathers 47 knights. Plus, I do kind of delight in the idea that some of Borges’ stories do get made into movies.

Leave a Reply

