Collateral … Damage?

I did not know this existed. I assumed, prior to his governorship, Arnold has made 6th Day and Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines. Both of which I didn’t really enjoy, though I’m willing to go back and watch Terminator 3 again, I’ve heard good things and maybe I never gave it a fair shot. Wait apparently Around the World in 80 Days was his last movie before going on hiatus.

So Collateral Damage

OK, classic formula updated with a new twist? Watching this trailer I at first thought this was about a Middle Eastern style terrorist blowing up things, but the trailer later makes it clear the terrorist is a rogue Columbian. And Arnold is a fireman. Huh?

Wasn’t Arnold a fireman in End of Days (No, he was a cop)?

So Fireman Arnold I assume, flies to Columbia, gets a jaunty fedora-style hat, then kills bad guys for the rest of the movie. According to the wiki, it was originally supposed to be set in Libya, which already sounds like a bad sign. The other bad sign is that I’ve never heard of this movie. Yeah, it was probably Post-9/11 concerns, which had a really weird impact on our movies.

So the wiki page for this movie is pretty unsupervised because the plot section just explains the entire movie. And it really doesn’t sound good. Basically, if Arnold was going to be making a man-fights-terrorist movie he really should have been making True Lies 2. I don’t know what was going on with this era of movies, but it doesn’t seem like Arnold got any good ones. Maybe there weren’t any good ones.

Let’s see, what are some other action movies that came out in 2002:

  • Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
  • Die Another Day
  • Spider-man
  • The Bourne Identity
  • Blade II
  • The Transporter
  • Reign of Fire
  • Scorpion King
  • Men in Black 2
  • XXX

So that wasn’t a terrible year. Admittedly, the only movies I’d rewatch from this list today are Blade II, Men in Black II, and The Transporter.

I thought I might track this movie down when I heard about it but it sounds like I’ll just skip it. Nothing in the trailer or the exhaustingly detailed wiki page sounds compelling enough to track down when I could just watch True Lies or Conan the Barbarian instead.

Leave a Reply

